Connect with us

Cyber Crime

Excellence in Cyber Strategy Awarded to Dr JM Vyas at FutureCrime Summit 2024

Dr. J.M. Vyas, NFSU VC, awarded top Cyber Strategy honor at FutureCrime Summit 2024, highlighting India’s push for innovative cybersecurity solutions.



Excellence in Cyber Strategy Awarded to Dr JM Vyas at FutureCrime Summit 2024

New Delhi: Dr J.M. Vyas, the Vice Chancellor of the National Forensic Sciences University (NFSU), was honoured with the Excellence in Cyber Strategy (साइबर महर्षि) award at the esteemed FutureCrime Summit 2024. The event, which took place on February 8-9 in New Delhi, showcased outstanding achievements in cybercrime prevention, digital forensics, policing, research, and academics.

The prestigious Excellence in Cyber Strategy (साइबर महर्षि) award bestowed upon him served as a testament to his decades-long dedication and leadership in this crucial field. Dr. Vyas’ journey embodies the very essence of the FutureCrime Summit’s spirit – collaboration and innovation in the face of ever-evolving cyber threats. As the founder and guiding force behind the unique and specialized NFSU, he has played a pivotal role in nurturing future generations of forensic experts, equipped to tackle the complexities of the digital age.

ALSO READ: Frontline Fighters Against Cybercrime Unite: Highlights from FutureCrime Summit 2024

Recognizing Pioneers in Cybersecurity

The FutureCrime Awards, presented during the summit, aimed to acknowledge remarkable contributions in various domains related to cybersecurity and digital crime prevention. Arun Kumar, a distinguished IPS officer renowned for his innovative use of technology in law enforcement, presented the awards. Nilay Mistry, Associate Professor at NFSU, collected the award on behalf of Dr. J.M. Vyas.

Nilay Mistry, representing Dr. JM Vyas, Vice Chancellor of NFSU, accepts the award from Arun Kumar IPS at the FutureCrime Summit 2024

Nilay Mistry, representing Dr. JM Vyas, Vice Chancellor of NFSU, accepts the award from Arun Kumar IPS at the FutureCrime Summit 2024

A Trailblazer in Forensic Sciences

Dr. J.M. Vyas, serving as the founding Vice Chancellor of NFSU, has been instrumental in establishing the institution as a beacon of excellence. Additionally, he has led the Directorate of Forensic Science (DFS) in Gujarat for 28 years and has been appointed as the Director General of DFS since November 2020. With nearly five decades of experience in the field, Dr. Vyas stands as one of the most senior forensic scientists in the country.

ALSO READ: Padma Awards 2022: Dr JM Vyas, Vice-Chancellor Of National Forensic Sciences University Honoured With Padma Shri

His contributions have garnered international recognition, including prestigious awards such as the “Distinguished International Forensic Scientist Award” and the “Lifetime Achievement Award” from institutions like The Henry C. Lee Institute of Forensic Science and the International Association of Police Academies (INTERPA), respectively. Moreover, Dr. Vyas was honored with the “Humanitarian Forensic Award” for his exceptional services in the field of humanitarian forensics. In 2022, his achievements were further celebrated with the prestigious “Padma Shri” civilian award, signifying the highest echelons of national recognition.

Celebrating Excellence in Cybersecurity

The FutureCrime Summit 2024 served as a platform for India’s brightest minds in cybersecurity, digital forensics, and financial crime prevention to converge and collaborate. Organized jointly by The Future Crime Research Foundation (FCRF) and IIT Kanpur’s AIIDE Centre of Excellence (CoE), the summit facilitated discussions and initiatives aimed at tackling the evolving challenges posed by cybercrime.

Other notable recipients of awards at the summit included Odisha Police for “Excellence in Cyber Initiative,” Ankush Mishra, DSP of Uttarakhand Police for “Excellence in Cyber Policing,” and the Department of IT & Electronics, Government of West Bengal, for another “Excellence in Cyber Initiative” award. Dr. Gulshan Rai, Former NCSC, was also recognized for “Excellence in Cyber Strategy,” highlighting the diverse expertise honored at the event.

The FutureCrime Summit 2024 underscored the importance of collaboration and innovation in combating cyber threats, reaffirming India’s commitment to staying ahead in the ever-evolving landscape of digital crime prevention.


Excellence in CYBER INITIATIVE Odisha Police
Excellence in CYBER LAW ENFORCEMENT Special Task Force (STF), UP Police
Excellence in CYBER POLICING Ankush Mishra, DSP, Uttarakhand Police
Excellence in CYBER STRATEGY Dr. J.M. Vyas, VC, National Forensic Sciences University (NFSU)
Dr. Gulshan Rai, Former NCSC
Dinesh O Bareja, COO – Open Security Alliance
Excellence in CYBER RISK MANAGEMENT Bharat Panchal, Discover Financial Services
Akshay Garkel, Partner & Leader – Cyber at Grant Thornton Bharat LLP
Excellence in CYBER LAW PRACTICE Dr. Karnika Seth, Advocate, Supreme Court of India
Excellence in ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE RESEARCH AIIDE Centre of Excellence, Noida
Excellence in CYBER CAPACITY BUILDING K. Venkatesh Murthy, Senior Director, DSCI
Moin Shaikh, Sales Director – India, TRINEXIA
Excellence in FORENSIC HARDWARE DEVELOPMENT eSec Forte Technologies
Excellence in CYBER RISK MITIGATION Smith Gonsalves, Director at CyberSmithSECURE
Excellence in FUTURECRIME RESEARCH Risheek Kumar, Founder, Hackers Pathshala
Saumay Srivastava, Threat Intelligence Researcher, OSINT Analyst
Abhirup Guha, Associate VP, TransAsia Soft Tech (INSURTECH)
Excellence in Ethical Hacking Naveen Singh
Excellence in ONLINE CHILD SAFETY PROGRAM Kaushalya World School
Excellence in CYBER FORENSIC RESEARCH IIMT Group of Colleges


Follow on

 Telegram | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Instagram | YouTube

Continue Reading